Print | Rate this content

HP Jetdirect ew2500 802.11g Wireless Print Server - Reset the print server to factory defaults ("cold reset")

Reset the print server to factory defaults (“cold reset”)

Once you have configured the HP Jetdirect print server, your settings are saved in memory even over power cycles.

If you lose communications with the HP Jetdirect print server, or it fails to operate properly, you might need to reset the print server to its factory-default configuration. This is called a cold reset.

Resetting the HP Jetdirect wireless print server to factory-default settings can cause the print server to lose its wireless connection to your network. Reconfiguration of wireless network settings and reinstallation of the print server might be required.

If a printer reset is required, settings are reset to their factory default values. If you reset the printer, you might need to reconfigure the printer’s settings that are required by users.

To restore factory-default settings on an HP Jetdirect ew2500 print server, follow these steps:

  1. Unplug the power module from the back of the print server.

  2. While holding down the test button on the back of the print server, plug the power module back into the print server then release the test button. Any user-configured settings will be erased.

When you restore the print server to its factory-default settings, you should print an HP Jetdirect configuration page to confirm that factory-default values have been assigned.

Provide feedback

Please rate the information on this page to help us improve our content. Thank you!