Print | Rate this content

HP ProCurve Switch 2520 Series - Restoring the Factory Default

As part of the troubleshooting process on the switch, it may become necessary to return the switch configuration to the factory default settings. Restoring to factory default :
  • Interrupts the switch operation momentarily

  • Clears any passwords

  • Clears the console event log

  • Resets the network counters to zero

  • Performs a complete self test

  • Reboots the switch into its factory default configuration including deleting the IP address, if one is configured.

NOTE: This process removes all switch configuration changes the user has made from the factory default settings. This includes, for example, configuration of VLANs, Spanning Tree, trunks, and stacking. Returning the configuration of these features to their factory default settings (usually disabling them) may result in network connectivity issues.

If the switch has a valid configuration, and if the user is restoring the factory default settings for a reason other than configuration problems, they should save the switch configuration prior to performing the factory default reset. Then, after the reset and resolution of the original problem, the user can restore the saved configuration to the switch. For both the save and restore processes, they can use the console copy command.

The user can restore the factory default configuration either on the switch itself, or through the switch console.

To execute the factory default reset on the switch, perform these steps:
  1. Using pointed objects, simultaneously press both the Reset and Clear buttons on the front of the switch. The power and fault lights come on.

  2. Continue to press the Clear button while releasing the Reset button.

  3. When the Self Test LED begins to blink, release the Clear button.

    The switch will then complete its self test and begin operating with its configuration restored to the factory default settings.

To restore the factory default configuration using the console, execute the erase startup-config command from the console command prompt.

Provide feedback

Please rate the information on this page to help us improve our content. Thank you!